Introduction to e-safety

What does e-safety mean in the context of an inspection?

Ofsted will be looking at your school’s ability to:

  • Protect and educate pupils and staff in their use of technology.
  • Have appropriate mechanisms to intervene and support any incident where appropriate.

What types of e-safety risk are there?

Ofsted categorises e-safety into 3 areas of risk:

  • Content – being exposed to illegal, inappropriate or harmful material.
  • Contact – being subjected to harmful online interaction with other users.
  • Conduct – personal online behaviour that increases the likelihood of harm.

What does Ofsted see as outstanding?

  • A shared responsibility for e-safety that includes assemblies, tutorial time, personal, social, health and education lessons and an age appropriate curriculum for e-safety to help pupils become responsible users of new technologies
  • Schools that teach pupils how to use managed systems responsibly, rather than just using locked down systems.
  • Senior leaders, governors, staff and families working together to develop e-safety strategy.
  • Regularly reviewed policy in light of technological developments.
  • Schools striving to support e-safety at home.
  • Schools providing systematic training for all staff and monitoring it’s impact.

From Ofsted Inspecting E-Safety briefing

Written by Safeguarding Essentials on March 26, 2013 16:08


Related Articles